Celebrating the Mathematical Work of

Celebrating the Mathematical Work of

Professor Maryam Mirzakhani

Professor Maryam Mirzakhani

Saturday, November 4, 2017, 2:00 to 4:30 PM, Mathematics Building, Room 4000A, UCLA

Professor Lotfi Zadeh, Father of Mathematical "Fuzzy Logic",

Professor Lotfi Zadeh, Father of Mathematical "Fuzzy Logic",

passed away at the age of 96

2017 Awards Ceremony

2017 Awards  Ceremony

Professor Madjid Samii

Named World Top Neurosurgeon

Professor Behrokh Khoshnevis

Wins NASA’s Top Award

Dr. Ramin Golestanian wins the 2014 Holweck Medal

The Holweck Medal for 2014 has been awarded to Professor Ramin Golestanian "for his pioneering contributions to the field of active soft matter, particularly microscopic swimmers and active colloids."  The gold medal and a prize of Eu3000 is awarded by the Société Française de Physique, and will be presented to Professor Golestanian at a ceremony in Paris on August 27.

Dr. Golestanian is a professor at the Oxford University’s Rudolf Peierls Center for Theoretical Physics.  He obtained his BS from the Sharif University of Technology and his MS and PhD from the Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (IASBS), both in Iran.

Ramin has been a visiting scholar at MIT, postdoctoral fellow at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics at UCSB, Joliot Chair and CNRS Visiting Professor at ESPCI, and visiting professor at College de France.  Before joining Oxford, he held academic positions at the University of Sheffield. 


This award was instituted in 1945, jointly by the French and British Physical Societies as a memorial to Fernand Holweck, Director of the Curie Laboratory of the Radium Institute in Paris, France.  The money for the prize was, initially, subscribed by Fellows of The Physical Society and others.  A medal, originally in bronze, but since 1972 in gold, is given by the Société Française de Physique.  The award is made in alternate years by the Councils of one of the two societies to a physicist selected from a list of nominees submitted by the other.

The award will be made for distinguished work in any aspect of physics that is ongoing or has been carried out within the 10 years preceding the award.  In selecting the recipient of the award, the primarily experimental interest of Holweck will be borne in mind.  The award is now made in odd-dated years to a physicist based in France and presented in the UK or Ireland and in even-dated years to a physicist based in the UK or Ireland and presented in France.