Prof. Samii

World Academy of Neurological Surgery selected Professor Madjid Samii as the 2014 Golden Neuron Award Winner.  The award was announced during a ceremony held at the biannual meeting of the World Academy of Neurological Surgery in Vienna on October 11, 2014.  Iranian neurosurgeon and medical scientist, Professor Samii, had earlier received the 2014 Leibniz Ring Prize in Berlin.

Source: World Academy of Neurological Surgery


Dr. Behrokh Khoshnevis of the University of Southern California has been named the Grand Prize Winner in the 2014 Create the Future Design Contest for the invention of "Robotic Building Construction by Contour Crafting".

The Holweck Medal for 2014 has been awarded to Professor Ramin Golestanian "for his pioneering contributions to the field of active soft matter, particularly microscopic swimmers and active colloids."  The gold medal and a prize of Eu3000 is awarded by the Société Française de Physique, and will be presented to Professor Golestanian at a ceremony in Paris on August 27.

Dr. Golestanian is a professor at the Oxford University’s Rudolf Peierls Center for Theoretical Physics.  He obtained his BS from the Sharif University of Technology and his MS and PhD from the Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (IASBS), both in Iran.

Ramin has been a visiting scholar at MIT, postdoctoral fellow at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics at UCSB, Joliot Chair and CNRS Visiting Professor at ESPCI, and visiting professor at College de France.  Before joining Oxford, he held academic positions at the University of Sheffield. 


This award was instituted in 1945, jointly by the French and British Physical Societies as a memorial to Fernand Holweck, Director of the Curie Laboratory of the Radium Institute in Paris, France.  The money for the prize was, initially, subscribed by Fellows of The Physical Society and others.  A medal, originally in bronze, but since 1972 in gold, is given by the Société Française de Physique.  The award is made in alternate years by the Councils of one of the two societies to a physicist selected from a list of nominees submitted by the other.

The award will be made for distinguished work in any aspect of physics that is ongoing or has been carried out within the 10 years preceding the award.  In selecting the recipient of the award, the primarily experimental interest of Holweck will be borne in mind.  The award is now made in odd-dated years to a physicist based in France and presented in the UK or Ireland and in even-dated years to a physicist based in the UK or Ireland and presented in France.